IABA Scholarship

IABA Foundation grants one or more scholarships each year to law students who have demonstrated a commitment to the advancement of the Iranian-American community. Applicants must be of Iranian heritage and full-time students at an accredited law school (applications from UCI School of Law will be accepted) in the United States who are not otherwise receiving full educational funding from another organization.

Our scholarships are generously funded by local IABA Chapters and by donations from individual sponsors. We are privileged and proud to have the support of our local Chapters and members of our legal community in building a team to support the future success of Iranian students.

This year we are proud to announce an additional award to the scholarship prize. In addition to the financial reward that will be granted to the scholarship recipient, 3L+ Law Prep and Niki Khoshzamir Moore (CEO & Founder), are generously sponsoring the IABA scholarship recipient(s) with the opportunity to take advantage of the skills training seminars and coaching programs provided by the prep course. The IABA scholarship recipient(s) will receive a 3-month career coaching package, and full-tuition scholarship to attend a 3L+ Career Conference and/or New Attorney Basics seminar.   For more information on 3L+, visit http://www.3lplus.com.

If you would like to apply for the IABA Scholarship, please submit the following materials to scholarship@iabafoundation.org by the application deadline: (1) a resume detailing your education and work and community experience; (2) official law school and college transcripts; (3) a brief statement articulating why you chose to attend law school, why you would like to become an attorney, and how you believe you will make a difference as an attorney on issues of concern and interest to the Iranian-American community; and (4) this application.

The deadline for applying for the 2015 scholarship is March 31, 2015 by 11:59 PM.


We welcome contributions to the annual IABA Scholarship fund. If you are interested in making a tax-deductible contribution,


Ava Badiee (University of California, Irvine School of Law)
She received a bachelor degree in English Literature and with a minor in Global Poverty and Practice from the University of California, Berkeley, where she graduated with honors. Prior to attending law school, she briefly taught English at a children’s home in Nepal and was involved with JusticeCorps. In law school, Ms. Badiee has been involved with the Iraqi Refugee Assistance Program and the American Constitutional Law Society. She is currently a judicial extern at the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Central District of California.
Ava Badiee
Setareh Homayoninejad (UC Berkeley, School of Law)
Setareh was born in Iran and came to California with her family at the age of nine. She graduated cum laude from the University of California, Los Angeles with a B.A. in Philosophy and a minor in Women’s Studies. As an undergraduate, Setareh helped initiate a campaign aimed at ending violence against women within her campus’ community. Throughout the summers she dedicated a total of over five hundred hours mentoring youth by volunteering as a camp counselor. At law school, Setareh is an articles editor for the Berkeley Journal of Criminal Law, co-programming chair of the Boalt Hall Women’s Association, and career development chair for the First Generation Professionals at Berkeley Law. She spent half of this summer working at Greenberg Traurig and the other half working at Fox Group Legal. Setareh has been able to use her fluency in Farsi to translate for low income clients while she volunteered at a Worker’s Disability Law Clinic last year.


  • 2013:
    Rachel Khalili (University of California Irvine School of Law $2500)
    Sahar Maali (University of California Berkeley School of Law $2500)
    Barzin Pakandam(University of Southern California School of Law $2500)
  • 2012:
    Z. Payvand Ahdout (Columbia University School of Law $2500)
    Ramin Montazeri (Columbia University School of Law $2500)
    Sima Namiri-Kalantari (University of California Los Angeles School of Law $2500)
  • 2011:
    Nima Rahimi (University of California Davis School of Law $3000)
    Roxana Rahmani (Harvard Law School $3000)

    • San Diego Chapter Scholarship
      Ashkaan Hassan (University of San Diego School of Law $2500)
      Naziol Nazarinia (Thomas Jefferson School of Law $2500)
  • 2010:
    Pouneh Aravand (Yale Law School $3000)
    Mehrdad Bokhour (Loyola Law School of Los Angeles $3000)
  • 2009:
    Siavash Alavi (University of Southern California School of Law $2000)
    Arash J. Fuladian (University of San Diego School of Law $2000)
    Sara Rezvanpour (University of California Berkeley School of Law $2000)
  • 2007:
    Tala Rezai (Emory University School of Law $1500)
    Maryam Moravvej Farshi (University of Baltimore School of Law $1500)
  • 2006:
    Elham Kayvani (University of California Berkeley School of Law)
  • 2005:
    Mani Ahmadi (Loyola Law School of Los Angeles)
    Sara Mahdavi (University of California Los Angeles School of Law)