IABA Foundation grants one or more scholarships each year to law students who have demonstrated a commitment to the advancement of the Iranian-American community. Applicants must be of Iranian heritage and full-time students at an accredited law school (applications from UCI School of Law will be accepted) in the United States who are not otherwise receiving full educational funding from another organization.

Our scholarships are generously funded by local IABA Chapters, donations by individual sponsors, as well as law firms and community organizations. We are privileged and proud to have the support of our local Chapters and members of our legal community in building a team to support the future success of Iranian students.






Hirsa Amin (Yale Law School)
Hirsa Amin is a 1L at Yale Law School. Hirsa graduated summa cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa from the University of California, Berkeley in 2017, earning a Bachelor of Arts in Legal Studies. Prior to law school, Hirsa was an intern for the Human Rights Center at UC Berkeley, where she conducted open-source investigations research for reports and legal cases concerning war crimes, crimes against humanity and genocide. Her research supported the efforts of various non-governmental organizations and human rights lawyers around the world and was focused on regions including but not limited to Myanmar, Syria, and the United States. In addition to the field of international human rights, Hirsa’s professional experiences have included working in the areas of civil rights, capital defense and immigration.


Salman Ameri (Georgetown University Law Center)
Salman Ameri is a 1L at Georgetown University Law Center. Salman attended the University of Maryland, College Park, graduating cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa with a major in Government. Salman has worked in the office of Senator Cory Booker of New Jersey and Congressman John Delaney of Maryland. He has worked on congressional campaigns and held various research positions at institutions including the Woodrow Wilson Center for Scholars, Princeton University, and the University of Chicago.  Salman is passionate about studying U.S. foreign and national security policy. At Georgetown, Salman aims to work with communities diverse communities to build consensus on immigration and national security issues.



  • 2017:
    Sara Ehsani-Nia (UC Davis, 3L)
    Neda Hafezi (UC Hastings, 3L)
  • 2016:
    Neda Tolooi (Loyola University)
    Neda Saghafi (University of Maryland)
    Laily Sheybani (UPenn,1L)
    Seyyed Mohammad Hossein Sajjadi (Santa Clara University, 3L)
    Sara Movahed (University of Maryland, 3L)
  • 2015:
    Sam Sadeghi (UCLA School of Law)
    Anita Bamshad (University of California, San Diego)
  • 2014:
    Ava Badiee (University of California, Irvine School of Law)
    Setareh Homayoninejad (UC Berkeley, School of Law)
  • 2013:
    Rachel Khalili (University of California Irvine School of Law $2500)
    Sahar Maali (University of California Berkeley School of Law $2500)
    Barzin Pakandam(University of Southern California School of Law $2500)
  • 2012:
    Z. Payvand Ahdout (Columbia University School of Law $2500)
    Ramin Montazeri (Columbia University School of Law $2500)
    Sima Namiri-Kalantari (University of California Los Angeles School of Law $2500)
  • 2011:
    Nima Rahimi (University of California Davis School of Law $3000)
    Roxana Rahmani (Harvard Law School $3000)
  • San Diego Chapter Scholarship
    Ashkaan Hassan (University of San Diego School of Law $2500)
    Naziol Nazarinia (Thomas Jefferson School of Law $2500)
  • 2010:
    Pouneh Aravand (Yale Law School $3000)
    Mehrdad Bokhour (Loyola Law School of Los Angeles $3000)
  • 2009:
    Siavash Alavi (University of Southern California School of Law $2000)
    Arash J. Fuladian (University of San Diego School of Law $2000)
    Sara Rezvanpour (University of California Berkeley School of Law $2000)
  • 2007:
    Tala Rezai (Emory University School of Law $1500)
    Maryam Moravvej Farshi (University of Baltimore School of Law $1500)
  • 2006:
    Elham Kayvani (University of California Berkeley School of Law)
  • 2005:
    Mani Ahmadi (Loyola Law School of Los Angeles)
    Sara Mahdavi (University of California Los Angeles School of Law)